Monday, August 28, 2017

The Dread Zone: August 28, 2017

Cymande - "Brothers on the Slide" (The Message) 
Daktaris - "Super Afro-beat" (Soul Explosion) Daptone Records
Lucky Brown - "Mesquite Beat" (Mesquite Beat) 
Ted Coleman Band - "Can You Feel It?" (Taking Care of Business) 
Derrick Harriott - "Slave" (Sound & Pressure V. 4) Pressure Sound Records
Mutabaruka - "Set de Prisoners Free" (Word Sound 'Ave Power) 
Sugarman Three - "Solid Funk" (Soul Fire Funk 45 Collection pt. 2) Soul Fire Records
Sugar Minott - "Dancehall Style" (Roots Lover 79-83) Mol Selekta Records
Lacksley Castell - "Speak Softly" (Morning Glory) Negus Roots/Musical Ambassador
Dub Gabriel - "Interstella Dub Dwella" (ADSR Dub) - new release!!!
Root Shock - "Electricity" (Root Shock) self release - new release!!!
Suite Crude - "Intergalactic Research" (Space Age Gutbucket Afrodelic Jazzploitation) Cosmo Elliptic
King Schascha - "Rudeboy Skankin'" (Rudeboy Skankin') - new release!!!
Numonics - "You Lied" (Groove Merchant Turns 20) Luv 'N' Haight Records
Bloodstone - "Who Has the Last Laugh Now?" (Natural High) 
Kool and the Gang - "Little Children" (Open Sesame) 
Rim Arrives - "Funky Drummer" (Rim Arrives) BBE Records
Weldon Irvine - "Morning Sunrise" (Soul Sides v. 1) Zealous Records
John Brown's Body - "Give Yourself Over" (Amplify) Easy Star Records
Betty Davis - "Special People" (They Say I'm Different) Light in the Attic
Kay Gees - "Gotta Keep on Bumpin'" (Deep Beats)
Chick Corea/Return to Forever - "Sofistifunk" (No Mystery) Polydor
Roger Robinson & Disrupt - "Nightshift" (Dog Heart City) - new release!!!

Monday, August 21, 2017

The Dread Zone: August 21, 2017

Antibalas  - "Gold Rush" (Where the Gods are at Peace) Daptone - new release!!!
Soul Syndicate - "Fittest of the Dub Fittest" (Dub Classics) Jamaican Recordings
Dub Gabriel - "Freedom Dub" (ADSR Dub) DAC Records - new release!!!
Garnet Silk - "Evacuate" (Rule Dem) Trojan Records
The Uniques - "Beatitude" (First Class Rock Steady) 17 N. Parade 
Junior Murvin - "Jamaican Girls" (Muggers in the Street) Greensleeves
Johnny Clarke - "Them Never Love Poor Marcus" (Rockers Time Now) Front Line
Mr. Anonymous - "Bring the Youth" (Mr. Anonymous) Cool and Easy 
SJOB Movement - "Halleleuyah!" (Freedom Train) Culture of Soul Records
Betty Davis - "Come Take Me" (Betty Davis) Light in the Attic Records
Soul Seven - "Southside Funk" (Funky 16 Corners) Stones Throw Records
The Last Poets - "Funk" (Holy Terror) Black Arc/Ryko Records
Suite Crude - "Crude Pursuit" (Space Age Gutbucket Afrodelic Jazzploitation) Cosmo Eliptic
Heliocentrics - "Capital of Alone" (A World of Masks) Soundway - new release!!!
Porter Ricks - "Scuba Rondo" (Anguilla Electrica) Tresor Records - new release!!!
Intrusion - "Little Angel" (The Seduction of Silence) Echospace Records
Cymande - "Rickshaw" (Best of...)  Sequel Records
SunPalace - "Palace Strut" (Rude Movements)
Soulwax - "Tresspassers" (From DeeWee) Play It Again Sam Records - new release!!!
Rim Arrives - "Sunkwa" (Rim Arrives) Rising Times Records
Brass Connection - "Help Yourself" (Golden Classics) EMI
Silvano D'Auria - "Sortilegio" (Sortilegio) 
Kool and the Gang - "99 44/100%" (Kool Funk Essentials) 
Archie Bell and the Drells - "My Baloon's Going Up" (Platinum Collection)
Harvey and the Phenomenals - "Soul and Sunshine" (Alternate History of Popular Music) Numero Group

Monday, August 14, 2017

The Dread Zone: August 14, 2017

Tenastelin - "Burial Tonight/Version" (Basic Replay) Basic Replay Records
Prince Far I - "Equality Version" (Silver & Gold: 1973-79) Blood & Fire Records
Kool - "Big Apple Boogie" (Kool Funk Essentials 70-77) E Music
Rim Arrives - "Brush Means Making Love" (Rim Arrives) BBe Records
Commando Shad - "Love Motion" (Sly and Robbie Present DJ Riot) Taxi Records
Orchestre Poly Rythmo de Cotonou - "Se Ba Ho" (Echos Hypnotiques) Analog Africa Records
Roy Porter Sound Machine - "Ohh La La" (The Story of...) Tramp Records
Antibalas - "Goldrush" (The Gods are at Peace) Dap Tone Records - new release!!!
Max Romeo - "Three Blind Mice" (Open the Iron Gate) Blood & Fire Records
Sly & Family Stone - "Skin I'm In" (Fresh) Epic
Khan Jamal Creative Arts Ensemble - "Cosmic Echos" (Dance to the Motherland) Eremite Records
Mutabaruka - "Witeman Country" (Check It!) RAS Records
Linton Kwesi Johnson - "Man Free" (Dread Beat and Blood) Front Line Records
Wrongtom Meets the Ragga Twins - "Hard Dub" (In Dub) - new release!!!
Roger Robinson & Disrupt - "Bun Bun Bun" (Dog Heart City) - new release!!!
Porter Ricks - "Anguilla Electrica" (Anguilla Electrica) Tresor - new release!!!
SJOB Movement - "Let's Do It" (Friendship Train) Culture of Soul 
Tee Mac - "Nam Myoho-Renge-Kyo" (Nepa oh Nepa) 
Soulwax - "Tresspassers" (From DeeWee) Play It Again Sam - new release!!!
Geraldo Pino & The Heartbeats - "Heavy Heavy Heavy" (Afro-Rock v. 1)
Gregory James - "Happy Baby" (The Real Sound of Chicago) BBE
Fela Kuti - "Ololufe Mi" (Underground Spiritual Game) Quannum Records
Skeem - "Waar Was Jy" (The Winds of Change) AFrican Dream
Algiers - "Walk Like a Panther" (Underside of Power) Matador - new release!!! 

Monday, August 7, 2017

The Dread Zone: August 7, 2017

Winston Edwards & Blackbeard - "Downing Street Rock" (Change the Beat: Celluloid Records Story) Strut Records
Pyro & Crosby - "Styles and Patterns (version)" (The World is My Hood) 
Brigadier Jerry - "Fight for Your Rights" (Rub a Dub Soldiers) 
Betty Davis - "Is It Love Or Desire/Crashin' from Passion" (Is It Love Or Desire) Light in the Attic Records 
Lord Echo - "c90 Eternal" (Harmonies) Sound Way Records - new release!!!
Root Shock - "Electricity" (Root Shock) Self release - new release!!!
Chicco - "Papa Stop the War" (The Winds of Change) African Dream Records
Yabby You - "Feel All Right" (Beware) 
Mighty Diamonds - "Master Plan" (
Blue Rhythm Combo - "Get Down" (West Indies Funk 2) Trans Air Records
Budos Band - "T.I.B.W.F" (S/T) Daptone Records
Timezone - "Wildstyle" (Change the Beat: The Celluloid Story) Strut Records
Soulwax - "Conditions of a Shared Belief" (From DeeWee) Play It Again Sam Records - new release!!!
Kool & the Gang - "Starchild" (Kool Funk Essentials) E Music
Youngblood Brass Band - "E la e" (Pax Volumi) Tru Thought Records
Penguin Feet and the Teardrop Kid - "Everybody Get Ugly" (Hadley Murrell presents Funk You) HDM Records - new release!!!
Zema - "Rock Steady Riddim" (WE Roots) Catch Me Time Records
Creation Rebel/New Age Steppers - "Ethos Design" (Threat to Creation) On U Sound
SJOB Movement - "Friendship Train" (Friendship Train) Culture of Soul Records
Skeem - "Waar Was Jy" (The Winds of Change) African Dream
South Suburban Electric Strings - "Sign of the Zodiac" (Eccentric Soul: Nickel & Penny Label) Numero Group
Carl Craig - "At Les" (Versus) Planet E Records - new release!!!