Monday, September 24, 2018

The Dread Zone: September 24, 2018

Possession (aka Bill Laswell) - "Rainfall" (Africa Dub) Sub Meta Records
Don Carlos - "Rivers of Babylon" (Jah Light) 
Prince Far I - "Under Heavy Manners" (Trojan Roots Box Set) Trojan Records
Techno Animal feat. Dr. Israel - "Interplanetary War Chant" (Radio Hades) Force Inc. Music
Tommy McCook & the Supersonics - "Progressive Reggay" (Real Cool) Trojan Records
Tokyo Ska Paradise Orchestra - "The Battle of Tokyo" (Glorious) Nacional Records - new release!!!
Alice Coltrane - "Turiya and Ramakrishna" (Ptah, the El Daoud) Impulse Records
McCoy Tyner - "Contemplation" (The Real McCoy) Impulse Records
Free Radicals - "Checkpoint" (No State Solution) - new release!!!
Mighty Tom Cats - "Dance Girl" (Soul Makossa) Paul Winley Records
Kiddus I - "Dub Not Over" (Topsy Turvy) - new release!!!
Emmanuel Jal - "We Fall" (The Key) 
24 Carat Black - "Food Stamps" (Ghetto: Misfortune's Wealth) Stax Records
Antibalas - "World Without Fear" (Talkatif) Ninja Tune Records
Prince Buster - "Earthquake" (Fabulous: Greatest Hits) Soul Jazz Records
Protoje - "Mind of a King" (A Matter of Time) Easy Star Records - new release!!!
KBong - "Awake" (Easy to Love You) - new release!!!
Miles Davis - "Little Stuff" (Filles de Kilimanjaro) Columbia Records
Rhythm Machine - "Put a Smile on Time" (Rhythm Machine) Now Again Records!
Eugene Blacknell - "Wah Wah Funk" (We Can't Take Life For Granted) Luv 'N' Haight Records
Sons of Kemet - "My Queen is Nanny of the Maroons" (Your Queen is a Reptile) Impulse Records - new release!!!
Sun Ra - "Discipline" (Space is the Place) Impulse Records
Charles Mingus - "Reincarnation of a Lovebird" (The Clown) Atlantic Records

Monday, September 17, 2018

The Dread Zone: September 17, 2018

Lee "Scratch" Perry & the Upsetters - "Come Along" (Chapter 1)
Don Carlos & Gold - "Them Say (version)" (Prison Oval Clash) Tamoki Wambesi Dove 
Dennis Brown - "Run Too Tuff" (The Best of Dennis Brown: The Niney Years) Heartbeat
Free Radicals - "Space Witch (Dub Remix)" (No State Solution) - new release!!!
John Holt - "Happy Go Lucky Girl" (I Can't Get You Out of Mind) Heartbeat Records
Idris Ackamoor & the Pyramids - "Message to My People" (An Angel Fell) Strut Records
William Onyeabor - "Something You Will Never Forget" (Who is William Onyeabor?) Luaka Bop
Herbie Hancock - "Palm Grease" (Thrust) Columbia Records
Hyvat ja Paarhat - "Rub a Dub Sound" (Funky Kingston) Playground Music - new release!!!
Richie Spice feat. Joe Hill - "Digital Days" (In the Streets to Africa) VP Records
Albert Aylers - "Masonic Inborn" (Live on the Riveria) ESP Music
SJOB Movement - "Odiaria" (Friendship Train) Culture of Sound Records
LKJ - "Brain Smashing/Victorious Dub" (LKJ in Dub) 
Duke Ellington - "Money Jungle" (Money Jungle) 
Protoje - "A Matter of Time" (A Matter of Time) Easy Star Records - new release!!!
Ziggy Marley - "Beach in Hawaii" (Love is My Religion) Cooking Vinyl Records
Kiddus I - "Dub of Life" (Topsy Turvy Dub) - new release!!!
Bobbi Humphrey - "Satin Doll" (Satin Doll) Blue Note Records
Return to Forever - "Dayride" (No Mystery) 
Sun Ra - "Aiethopia" (The Nubians of Plutonia) Saturn Records
World's Experience Orchestra - "Nine Degrees and Cold" (As Time Flows On) Now Again Records
Septimus - "Party Yall" (We Want a Piece of the Pie) Culture of Sound Records - new release!!!
Rahsaan Roland Kirk - "Blacknuss" (Blacknuss) 

Monday, September 10, 2018

The Dread Zone: September 10, 2018

Cedric "Congo" Myton - "Children Crying" (Inna de Yard) Inna de Yard
Linton Kwesi Johnson - "Shocking Dub/Iron Bar Dub" (LKJ in Dub)
Koffee - "Raggamuffin" (Raggamuffin) Frankie Music
Emmanuel Jal - "Dollar" (The Key) Gatwitch Records
I Mo Jah - "I've Been Hurt" (Rockers in the Land of Reggae) Pressure Sounds - new release!!!
McCoy Tyner - "Celestial Chant" (Trident) Concord/Decca Records
Rahsaan Roland Kirk - "Freaks for the Festival" (The Case of the 3rd Sided Dream) Atlantic
Don Carlos & Gold - "Never Run Away" (Prison Oval Clash)
Brother Jack McDuff - "Hunk o Funk" (Pulp Fusion: Fully Loaded) 
Capital Letters - "The Roots" (Judgment Day) Sugar Shack Records - new release!!!
Sons of Kemet - "My Queen is Mamie Phipps Clark" (Your Queen is a Reptile) Impulse - new release!!
Donald Byrd - "Wind Parade" (Places and Spaces) Blue Note Records
Trinity - "Genocide" (Eye to Eye) Irie Ites Records
Brother Ah - "Celebration" (Key to Nowhere) Ikef Records
Sun Ra - "Blue Soul" (Night of the Purple Moon) Saturn Research
Bohannon - "Foot Stompin Music" (The Best of...) Rhino Records
Abyssinians - "Black Man's Strain" (Satamassagana)
Gil Scott-Heron - "Me and the Devil" (I'm New Here) XL Records
Carol Cool - "Upside Down" (Hustle: Reggae Disco) Soul Jazz Records
Soothsayers - "Good Vibration" (Tradition) Wa Wa 45 - new release!!!
Ornette Coleman - "Focus on Sanity" (The Shape of Jazz to Come) Atlantic
J.J. Johnson - "Groovin" (Rudy Van Gelder Edition Sampler) Blue Note

Monday, September 3, 2018

The Dread Zone: September 3, 2018

Freddie McKay - "Peace in the Garden" (A Lonely Man) Dynamic Sounds
Dawn Penn - "You Don't Love Me (No No No) Remix" (You Don't Love Me (No No No) VP Records
Horace Andy - "Let's Live On Love" (Dance Hall Style) Wackies Records
Sounds of Liberation - "Billie One" (Sounds of Liberation)
Junior Reid - "Chanting" (Firehouse Clash) Live & Learn CD
Cee-Mix - "Comm Unique Ation" (DJ Kicks: Rockers Hi-Fi Black Album) !K7
Moodymann - "The Thief That Stole My Sad Days" (Forevernevermore) PeaceFrog Records
Jimmy Smith - "Slow Down Sagg" (Root Down) Verve Records
Lonnie Smith - "Peace of Mind" (Live at Club Mozambique)
Sons of Kemet - "My Queen is Nanny of the Maroons" (Your Queen is a Reptile) Impulse! - new release!!!
Charles Bradley and the Inversions - "Whatcha Doin'" (single) Daptone Records - new release!!!
T'Amir - "Randall in Addis" (Abyssinia e.p.) Tru Thought Records - new release!!!
Donald Byrd - "Change" (Places and Spaces) Blue Note Records
Betty Padgett - "Sugar Daddy part 2" (Betty Padgett) Luv 'N' Haight
Fela Kuti & Roy Ayers - "Africa - Center of the World" (Music of Many Colors) Celluloid Records
Mystic Bowie - "Burning Down the House" (Talking Dreads) MTMB Entertainment - new release!!!
Automaton - "Port of Entry" (
Soul Syndicate - "Just Another Girl" (As Is and Always)
Lonnie Liston Smith - "Expansions" (Expansions)