Saturday, July 25, 2020

The Dread Zone: July 27, 2020

Babe Rainbow - "Monky Disco (Jo Ba Dub)" (single) Sony Music
Lord Echo - "Low to the Street" (Harmonies) Stones Throw Records
Leon and Rootsquake - "Ride On" (single) - new release!!!
Kenyata Hill feat. Culture - "Free Africa" (single)
Little Ben and the Cheers - "Never More" (Eccentric Soul: The Nickel and Penny Labels) Numero Group
Johnson, Hawkins, - "You Can't Blame Me" (Eccentric Soul: The Capsoul Label) Numero Group
Majestic Arrows - "Doing it for Us" (Eccentric Soul: The Bandit Label) Numero Group
Horace Andy - "Skylarking" (Inna de Yard) Inna de Yard - new release!!!
Michael Kiwanuka - "I Won't Lie" (Home Again)
Kaleta and Super Yamba Band - "Jibiti (Bosq remix)" (single) - new release!!!
Lafayette Afro Rock Band - "Hihache" (Afro Funk Explosion)
Captain Planet - "Ghost Dance" (No Visa) - new release!!!
Charles Mingus - "Hora Decibitus" (Thirteen Pictures) Columbia Records
Adriane Younge and Ali Shaheed Muhammod - "Coneaxo" (Jazz is Dead) Linear Labs - new release!!!
Miles Davis - "One and One" (On the Corner) Columbia Records
Sefi Zisling - "Reverie with You and Me" (Expanse) Tru Thoughts Records
Spaza -
Adrian Younge and the Delfonics - "Lover's Medley" (Presents the Delphonics)
Keleketla - "Crystalise" (Keleketla!) Ninja Tune Records - new release!!!
The Cannibals - "Hey Tonight" (Boogie Breakdown: South African Synth) Cultures of Soul Records
Sneaks - "Addis" (Highway Hypnosis) Merge Records

Saturday, July 4, 2020

The Dread Zone: July 6, 2020

Keleketla! - "Freedom Groove" (Keleketla!) - new release!!! (South Africa!)
Joe King - "Speak on Up" (An Alternate History of Popular Music) Numero Group
Captain Planet - "Patty Cake" (No Visa) Bastard Jazz Records - new release!!!
Du'Rite - "No Hope" (single) Du'Rite Music - new release!!!
Soom T - "Original That's Me" (Far From Home) new release!!!  
Creations Unlimited - "Crystal Illusion" (An Alternate History of Popular Music) Numero Group
Fantastic Negrito - "Chocolate Samurai" (Have You Lost Your Mind Yet?)

Eek-a-Mouse - "It was my Land" (The Very Best of 2)
Mr. Bojangles - "Ten Dread Commandments" (Scratchy Sounds) Trojan Records
Burning Spear - "Give Me" (Marcus Garey) Island Records
Bim Sherman - "Love in the Ghetto" (Tribulation) Pressure Sounds
Roy Ayers - "African Sounds" (Roy Ayers: Jazz is Dead) Linear Labs - new release!!!
Johnny Lytle - "Minor Soul" (So Blue, So Funky v. 2) Blue Note Records
Jupiter and Okwess - "Na Kozonga" (Na Kozonga) Zamora Music - new reelase!!! (DRCongo)
Archie Bell and the Drells - "Don't Let the Music Slip Away" (Platinum Collection)
Los Yesterdays - "Time" (Penrose Records v. 1) Penrose Records - new release!!!
Soul Center aka Thomas Brinkmann - "Time" (III) Mute Records
Abassi All Stars - "Roots Version" (single)

Toots and the Maytals - "It Was Written Down" (Scratchy Sounds) Trojan Records
Barrington Levy - "Black Roses" (Too Experienced) RAS Records
Lord Echo - "Note from Home" (Echoes)
Alias - "Watching Water" (The Other Side of the Looking Glass) Anticon
Thievery Corporation feat. Sister Nancy - "Originality" (Versions) ESL Records
Fab Five Freddy - "Change the Beat" (Celluloid: Change the Beat)
Nightports feat. Betamax - "Ritual" (Nightports feat Betamax) Leaf Records - new release!!!
The Comet is Coming - "Final Eclipse (Full Version)" (Death to the Planet) Leaf Records