Saturday, January 9, 2021

The Dread Zone: January 11, 2021

Mavis Staples – “We Shall Not Be Moved” (We’ll Never Turn Back) Anti Records
Gregory Isaacs – “Storm” (Mr. Isaacs) Blood and Fire Records
Kamasi Washington – “Humility” (Harmony of Difference) Young Turks Records
DJ Drez – “Inner Vision” (Jahta Beat) Nectar Drop Record
Kashmere Stage Band – “Scorpio” (Cold Heat: Heavy Funk Rarities V. 1 1968-74) Now Again Records
Lalo Schifrin – “Turning Point” (Black Widow) CTI Records
Cliff Beach – “Black Moses” (single) – new release!!!
Lee “Scratch” Perry – “Come Home Dub” (In Satan’s Dub at Bullwackies) ROIR Records
MachineDrum – “Star (A$AP remix)” (single) Ninja Tune Records – new release!!!
Pharaoh Sanders – “Ore Se Rere” (Elevation) 
The No-Maddz – “Wretched of the Earth” (Heaven on Earth)
Bill Laswell and DJ rob Swift – “Reanimation” (Altered Beats)
Sault – “Don’t Shoot, Guns Down/Bow” (Untitled) 
Burning Spear – “Together” (Our Music)
African Head Charge v. Professor Stretch – “Hot Pursuit” (Drums of Defiance) On-U Sound Records
Alpha and Omega – “Cry from Shanti Town” (Mystical Things) BSI Records
Little Dragon and Moses Sumney – “The Other Lover” (single) new release!!!
The Comet is Coming – “The Afterlife” (The Afterlife) Impulse Records
Organik Mechanix – “Candyland” (Organik Mechanix) Ion Records
Makaya McCraven – “RFJ 3” (Highly Rare) International Anthem Records
GTA Hoffman – “Levitate” (Broken Chords for Broken People) Jazz and Milk Records
Keleketla! – “Freedom Groove” (Remixes) Ninja Tune Records – new release!!!

Monday, January 4, 2021

The Dread Zone: January 4 2021

Disrupt – ‘Jah Red, Gold, Green” (Foundation Bit)

Junior Byles – “Curly Locks” (Words of my Mouth)

Keleketla! – “Shepard Song” (Remixes) Ninja Tune Records – new release!!!

Roots Radics – “Dedication to Gladies” (Live at Channel 1) Abraham Records

DJ Food – “The Crow (Dub)” (A Dubplate of DJ Food v. 2) Ninja Tune Records

Monophonics – “Foolish Love” (In Your Brain)

Up, Bustle, and Out – “The Caravan of Summer” (

Little Dragon and Moses Sumney - “the Other Lover” (single) – new release!!!

Bass Communion v Muslimgauze – “Four” (

Rob Mazurek Exploding Star Orchestra – “Galaxy 1000” (Dimensional Stardust) International Anthem/Nonesuch Records – new release!!!

Barrington Levy and Joe Gibbs – “Mine Yuh Mouth/Late Night Movie”

Lalo Schifrin – “Jaws” (Black Widow) CTI Records

Jamaican Jazz Orchestra – “Hold the Phone” (single) – Zephryus Records 

Dezron Douglas and Brandee Younger - “The Creator Has a Master Plan” (Force Majure) 

Brooklyn Funk Essentials - “In the Buzzbag”

Infantry Rockers – “Revolucion Style” (Boombala)

Dennis Brown – “Lately Girl” (Wolfs and Leopards) 

Michael Kiwanuka – “Black Man in a White World” (Love and Hate)

Abase – “Fallen Statues” (Various Artists: Community – 15 Years of Jazz and Milk) Jazz and Milk Records – new release!!!

The Congos – “Lion in the Jungle” (Give Them the Rights)

Bill Laswell – “Cybotron” (Dub Chamber 3) ROIR Records

Toshinori Kondo/Bill Laswell/Eraldo Bernocci – “Called” (Charged)