Monday, April 26, 2021

The Dread Zone: April 26, 2021

 The Abyssinians - "Black Man Strain" (Satta Massengana) Heartbeat Records

Noah House of Dread - "Stand Firm in Dub" (Heart 2)

Steve Irl - "Changes" (Community: 15 Years of Jazz and Milk) Jazz and Milk Records

The Resonators - "Transmission" (The Constant)

Anchorsong - "Remedy" (single) Tru Thoughts Records - new release!!!

Cypher 7 - "Nothing Lasts" (Security) 

Moonshine - "Ginseng" (single) Forseen Records - new release!!!

Sir Coxsone Sound - "Mouth of the Wicked" (King of the Dub Rock) 

Los Retros - "It's Got to be You" (single) Stones Throw Records - new release!!!

Chiiild - "Easy on Yourself" (Synthetic Soul) 

The Congos - "Some a Thief" (Cock Mouth Kill Cock) 

Toots and the Maytals - "Funky Kingston" (Funky Kingston) 

Innov Gnawa - "El Bouhala" (Lila) Daptone Records - new release!!!

Soweto Gospel Choir - "Africa" (African Spirit) Shanachie Records

Brass Construction - "The Right Place" 

Adrian Younge - "Watch the Children" (The American Negro) Linear Labs - new release!!!

Bohannon - "Thoughts and Wishes" (The Greatest...)

Bobbi Humphrey - "Fun House" (Satin Doll)

Chicago Underground Duo - "Axis and Alignment" (Axis and Alignment)

The Comet is Coming - "Final Eclipse" (Death to the Planet) Leaf Records

Makaya McCraven - "RFJ III" (Highly Rare) International Anthem Records

Floating Points feat. Pharoah Sanders 

Dusty - "Explosion" (Keep it Raw) Jazz and Milk

Fela Kuti - "Black Man's Cry" (Live!)

Wednesday, April 21, 2021

The Dread Zone: April 19, 2021

Laid Blak – “Golden” (From the Vault) Sugar Shack Records – new release!!!

Moonshine Collective – “Malembe” (single)

Blackout – “Ghetto Girl” (single) Jewel Deal Ltd – new release!!!

St. Germain – “What Do You Think About” (Tourist)

Sault – “Red Lights” (7) Bandcamp

Willi Williams – “Zion Town” (Messenger Man) Blood and Fire Records

Joao Donato – “Forever More” (Jazz is Dead 7) Jazz is Dead Records – new release!!!

Noiseshaper – “Deamons” (Rough Out There) Echo Beach Records

Prince Far I – “Long Life” 

Fimber Bravo – “Coming Home” (Lunar Tredd) – new release!!!

Chip Wickam – “Rebel no 23” (single)

Adrian Younge – “Shine” (Black Dynamite Soundtrack) Linear Labs

Theon Cross – “The Offerings” (Fyah) 

The Expansions – “Dragonfly” (Murmuration)

Floating Points feat. Pharoah Sanders – “Movement No. 2” (Promises) – new release!!!

Yussef Lateef – “See See Rider” (Live at Pep’s)

ZilverZurf – “Vampire” (single) – new release!!!

Rickey Calloway – ‘Tell Me”

Uniting of Opposites – “Vortex No. 9” (Ancient Lights)

TV on the Radio – “You” (Echo T)

Jupiter and Okwess – “Apalegele Gale” (Na Gozonga) – new release!!!

Chiiild – “Back to Life” (Synthetic Soul)

Chicago Underground Duo – “Exponent Red” (Synaesthesia)

Monday, April 12, 2021

The Dread Zone: April 12, 2021

Pupa Curly – “Mama Wake Up” (single) Tuff Kruffy Music – new release!!!

Jon Moon – “Messenjah Dub” (Brighter Day) Yutman Records – new release!!!

Barrington Levy – “Mary Long Tongue” (Prison Oval Rock)

Michael Paul – “Reggae Music” (Reggae Music 12”) Kalita Records – new release!!!

Zilver Zurf – “Vampire” (single) Poets Club Records – new release!!!

Sault – “Threats” (7) Bandcamp

Uniting of Opposites – “Dr. Roach” (Ancient Lights)

DJ Drez – “So Good” (Jahta Beat) 

Misled Convoy v. Uncle Fester on Acid feat. Bim Sherman – “Mafia (Dub Mix)” (Translations 2) Dubmission Records – new release!!!

Techno Animal – “Hydrozoid” (Symbiotics) 

Gary Bartz – “Blue Jungles” (Jazz is Dead 6) Jazz is Dead – new release!!!

The L.A. Carnival – “Color” (Cold Heat: Heavy Funk Rarities) 

Noiseshaper – “Walls of Silence” (Rough Out There) 

Fimber Bravo – “Woonya Waa” (Lunar Tredd) Moshi Moshi Records – new release!!!

Menahan Street Band – “Rising Dawn” (The Exciting Sounds of…) Daptone Records – new release!!!

Ali Shaheed Muhammod feat. Bilal – “Do it Together” (Midnight Hour) Linear Labs Records

Floating Points feat. Pharoah Sanders – “Movement 4 & 5” (Promises) – new release!!!

Brother Ah and Sounds of Awareness – “Sekou” (Key to Nowhere)

Chip Wickham – “The Beatnik” (single) Lovemonk records

The Expansions – “Pocket 5” (Murmurations) 

The No-Maddz – “Wretched of the Earth" (Heaven and Earth) 

Onipa – “Safari Ya Muziki” (We No be Machine) Strut Records

William Onyeabor – “Good Name” (Who is William Onyeabor?) Luaka Bop